How long do I have to file a Missouri personal injury claim after an accident in St. Charles?
The statute of limitations for wrongful death, on the other hand, is 3 years, and 2 years for medical malpractice.
There is an exception to these parameters called the discovery rule. In the event that the injury or damage from the negligent act is not discovered at the time the act is committed, then the statute of limitations begins at the time that it was discovered.
The discovery rule applies, for instance, in cases where the injury that caused a wrongful death might not have been readily apparent. In most cases, the statute of limitations begins to run once the injury occurs; however, if the injury is not discovered until a year after it happens, then the statutory period begins the day it is realized.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident in St. Charles, contact a St. Charles personal injury lawyer who can explain how the statute of limitations, the discovery rule, and other laws apply to the circumstances of your injury. You may only have a limited window of opportunity to begin the lengthy Missouri personal injury claim process, so don't let your accident injury claim wait.
Contact a St. Charles Personal Injury Lawyer
When an accident in St. Charles has a profound impact on your life, you may choose to seek compensation through a Missouri personal injury claim. With a lawyer on your side, you can feel confident knowing your case is in good hands, while you focus on your recovery and getting your life back on track. To get started with determining if you have a viable case, contact the Missouri personal injury team at Bollwerk & Tatlow, LLC - 314-315-8111.